It’s been an incredibly strong year for Primal Architecture Records. Alongside fantastic releases by Sylvian-esque synth collaboration The Red Window, a stunning ambient release by Nick Podgurski, and a split track by Vain Warr/The Harrow, the label has just released a new multi-artist compilation, titled The Waning Daylight.  Preview the full compilation below, courtesy of Bandcamp:

how to kill roach es roach control products

The compilation is carefully curated by Primal Architecture lead Joshua Strawn (also active in Vain Warr, Azar Swan, and Blacklist), who appears on several of the tracks as a collaborator as well. The compilation is in a word, stunning; a more pastoral, haunting, and rapturous affair that draws upon folk horror, the ambient textures of Harold Budd, and ritualistic choral/neo-classical influences.

While many of the names may be unfamiliar for readers of our site, one should pop out immediately. Track two features Clan of Xymox’s Pieter Nooten, who channels a similar aesthetic as his masterful Sleeps with the Fishes album into a collaboration with Bert Barten. “Cedar XI” was constructed using MIDI samples collected from trees. Other highlights on the compilation include Lights With Teeth, a collaborative project between Strawn and daughter Grey that draws upon her early love of music and Strawn’s ability to manipulate both organic and electronic instruments, Solar Hex, a project showcasing improvisational cellist Kaily Schenker, and Timber Rattle, a drone project with a series of cassettes out via Burial Dance. Label alumni Nick Podgurski also contributes a gorgeous, sophisticated dark ambient piece titled “Words Tend to Betray These Moments.”


Join Robinhood with my link and we’ll both get a free stock


While The Waning Daylight features seven tracks, the entire compilation clocks in at approx. 50 minutes, and not a moment of it feels extraneous. Each track is a treatise in nachtmusik that serves as a fitting companion to the changing of seasons and the winter solstice. In a season otherwise filled with denominational, overplayed holiday music, there’s a certain comfort to come from keeping this compilation close at hand throughout the winter months.

The compilation is available in digital form via Bandcamp, but for those who appreciate a physical release, a limited-edition run of 50 green cassettes is also available, which comes in a 5×5 reel box and includes a unique pendant designed and assembled by Oath Jewelry. Check below for the full details and purchasing link.

Various Artists- The Waning Daylight
1. Waves From Beyond- Alora Crucible + Crisantemos
2. Cedar XI- Pieter Nooten + Bert Barten
3. The Pine- Lights With Teeth
4. Words Tend To Betray These Moments- Nick Podgurski
5. Rabbit’s Moon- Solar Hex
6. Through Creatures- Timber Rattle
7. Burying A Stone In Your Bed- Graven Image

Purchase digital and physical edition via Primal Architecture Bandcamp


Cover art by Caroline Harrison

The post Bask in the Upcoming Winter Solstice With Primal Architecture Records’ New Compilation “The Waning Daylight” appeared first on

Share and Enjoy !